“I hear you talking about power of woman but what about me as a sex worker?”

Freedom by Noluthando

As a mother of two children I didn’t get freedom.

Instead of getting freedom I get hate.

I hear you talking about power of woman but what about me as a sex worker?

I raised my children alone with that money.

I don’t understand why people judge us without reason.

I am a feminist.

I do all things that women do.

I am a father and I am a mother because I manage to make a better life and feed my children.

You feminists said we are equal but me on my side I still struggle to raise my voice.

Where is the freedom of a sex worker?

People take advantage of us and kill and rape us.

If I die who is gonna raise my children?

The people rape outside but they take them in (arrest) for 1 or 2 days and then we see them again.

I am not a bad person.

I am selling sex, I am not killing anyone

Where is my freedom?

This is an entry for the “Feminist Flash Fiction 2013” writing competition from Mookychick Online.
Enter now.

Please visit: http://www.mookychick.co.uk/feminism/uk-feminism/femflash-2013.php

Leave a Reply

