Sex Worker’s Lament

319

Why our job has to be judged
Why our job has to be discriminated
Why our job has to be despised
Why our job has to be stigmatized
Why our job has to be cursed
Sex work is my job.

We are called Prostitutes
We are called Oomarhosha
We are called Oonopaka
We are called Amhenyukazi/Oonoongogo
Sex work is my job.

People believe that this is against God’s Kingdom
Evil spirits are associated with us
We are said to be HIV spreaders
And other sexual transmitted infections
Sex work is my job.

Should we sit down and fold our arms
Should we be beggars
Should we be scroungers
Should we expect to be spoon fed like babies
Sex work is my job.

Musicians are selling their voices
Athletes are selling their speed
Soccer players are selling their feet
Rugby players are selling hand and feet
Sex workers are selling sex
All this is done with the use of the body
What is wrong with selling sex
Sex work is my job.

We have responsibility like everyone else
We need to put something on the table
We have families to take care of
We have children to look after
No life without finance
Sex work is my job.

What sin have we committed for being sex workers
Whose business is it for me being a sex worker
It’s my body it’s my business
Let me use my body
And let me do my business
Sex work is my job.

Police stop harassing us
Stop pepper spraying us
Stop violating us
Stop violating out rights
Stop making us pay unnecessary bribes
Stop robbing us. Sometimes we go back home with noting in our hands.
You have a better job than us
Sex work is my job.

Should we join burglars
Should we join shoplifters
Should we join hijackers
Should we join robbers
Rather than selling sex
Sex work is my job.

We call upon the government
We need the governments intervention
We need sex work to be decriminalized
Sex work is my job.

-Priscilla (Sex worker and Sisonke member)

This is an entry for the FEMFLASH 2013 writing competition from Mookychick Online. Enter now.

Please visit: http://www.mookychick.co.uk/feminism/uk-feminism/femflash-2013.php

Leave a Reply

